Mom’s Thoughts on Online Dating Part II

Ooops! I thought I had posted this the last time I updated it. Apparently, not. Apologies to Mom, especially since I’m starting a new series based on online dating. Plus the formatting is messed up. Can’t fix it for the life of me. Oh well. Apologies to you, my dear readers. I’m posting the first installment of my “Mis-Matched to Miss Matched” series tomorrow. Stay tuned!

After Mom read my last blog post, she asked me to clarify her position on a certain subject. So, here goes.

“I liked your post. It was funny. But I didn’t like how you ended it. I don’t want people to think that I condone sex outside of marriage. Because I don’t.”
“I know you don’t.”
“But all of the other people reading your blog don’t know that. Nobody should be having sex unless they’re married.”
“I know.”
“To each other.”
I laugh.
“Period.”
“I know.”
“It’s not right. Fix it.”
“Okay, Mom. I’ll write another post.”
“Good. Thank you.”
“It’s the least I can do. I wouldn’t want you to lose any sleep over it.”
“I have other things to lose sleep over. And you should put something in your profile too. That way those men won’t get the wrong idea.”
Heavy sigh and rolling of my eyes. “Mom, I can weed out those guys without a grand declaration in writing.”
“Some men are animals and just want sex.”
“I know. A lot has changed in the last twenty years. But that part has remained the same. I dealt with them before, I can deal with them again.”
“I just worry about you.”
“I know. Thank you. Don’t worry.”
“Of course I’ll worry. And I’ll say a rosary.”
“You and me both!”

2 thoughts on “Mom’s Thoughts on Online Dating Part II

Leave a Reply

