Spotlight on Children’s Author Kristen Mott

Kristen
     Today’s spotlight is shining on children’s author, Kristen Mott. She will be signing books at The 65th Annual Christmas Gift & Hobby Show on Saturday, November 8th, from 10:00 AM – 3:30 PM.

     Here is Kristen’s story in her own words.

     I’m Kristen Mott, children’s book author, wife, mother, animal caretaker and animal welfare advocate. I knew that I wanted to write children’s picture books ever since I was first able to read them myself. I was finally able to make it happen twenty years later. I believe that children’s books are the only genre that can be enjoyed for multiple lifetimes. You enjoy these books as a child, then inevitably come back to the same stories and read them to your own children years later.

Children’s Literary Classics International Book Awards - Award Winning Book
     I’m very proud of the work that I have done with the first two books in the Odie the Stray Kitten Series.

     Odie the Stray Kitten is a true story about how one brave stray kitten found his way to my farm and into my heart. It received the 2014 Children’s Literary Classics’ Seal of Approval, it won a 2014 Next Generation Indie Book Award as well as a 2014 Purple Dragonfly Honorable Mention.

     Odie’s Best Friend was originally written as a response piece to an article I read about the devastating statistics of animal life and death in local shelters. That response was spun down and edited into a story suitable for children. I then combined it with a story I created about how Odie’s best friend Bandit came to live on my farm.  This book has received multiple five star reviews. The third and final book in the series should be available in 2015.Odie_and_Bandit

     I currently live on a small farm in Indiana with my husband and son where I care for Odie and Bandit, the cats who inspired my books, as well as horses and a growing feline family. I strive for my writing to encourage children to read, to write their own stories, and to have compassion for animals.

Learn even more about Kristen Mott and her work through her websites:

http://www.kristenmott.com
http://www.animalstoriesforchildren.blogspot.com
http://www.facebook.com/odiethestraykittenphoto_(5) Kristen

Leave a Reply

