Suzanne Purewal – Using Adversity To Fuel My Passion

IMG_1893

     I will be appearing at the 66th Annual Christmas Gift & Hobby Show, at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, West Pavilion. I will be signing books every day of the show, running from Wednesday, November 11th through Sunday, November 15th. http://hsishows.com/wp/christmasgiftandhobbyshow/portfolio/authors-schedule/

     I have been called a survivor. While that is true, more importantly, I thrive in the face of adversity. Every author and artist knows that adversity is a necessary evil to the creative process. Our greatest works emanate from the depths within, where the raw emotions reside. I often joke that my autobiography should be entitled, My Life is a Country Song. Defeating cancer, being downsized, and enduring an unexpected divorce were the catalysts that put me on my current path.

     For me, change and major upheaval unleash a wealth of emotions. Granted, darkness rules some writing days. And sometimes characters in my books must die as a result. But if you ask me if a certain character is based on someone I know, I will kindly refer you to the disclaimer on the Copyright Page. You know, where it clearly states:

This book is a work of fiction. Names, characters, places, and incidents either are products of the author’s imagination or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to actual persons, living or dead, events, or locales is entirely coincidental.

     But I digress…

     However, when dealing with major upheaval, I am also blessed with an awakening that allows a fire to burn within me. It fuels my humorous, sarcastic and unique storytelling style. Simply put, adversity is a gift and a curse.

Slide1

     Last month, I released my latest romantic suspense novel, Challenging Destiny! It is the sequel to Embracing Destiny. The exciting adventure continues with some of your favorite characters – Sara Taylor, Joe Lazaro, and everyone’s favorite Italian mother, Rose Lazaro.

     Sara Taylor’s life is finally coming together. She feels at peace. However, Joe stumbles across a clandestine operation. Any leak would put him and his loved ones in danger. Still reeling from his discovery, a secret from Joe’s past rears its ugly head. Then the unthinkable happens – the worlds collide. Will this battle bring Sara and Joe closer together? Or will they become collateral damage in the fallout?

cover_master_1 092810

     My first romantic suspense novel, Embracing Destiny, follows Sara Taylor – a woman standing at a crossroad. An unexpected event sets her on a journey. Outside forces intervene, and danger lurks in every shadow.

From_14_to_41_front_cover_092311

     My poetry book, From 14 to 41, contains soulful poems that capture the essence of life. A blend of love, loss, whimsical and inspirational pieces, readers are drawn in as the raw emotions leap from the pages.

     My blog, the one you are currently reading, Pursuing My Passion, is an outlet for my unique storytelling style, sense of humor and sarcastic wit. The most popular posts are from my “Mis-Matched to Miss Matched” dating series. The entries are all true stories based on my online dating adventures on Match.com. I have been credited with saving several marriages. Readers confessed that they returned to counseling after reading my blog. I am happy that my life experiences entertain and have a positive impact as well.

     My work has appeared in The Polk Street Review and in An Evening with the Writing Muse.

     I am the coordinator for the Local Authors’ booth for the Annual Christmas Gift & Hobby Show at the Indiana State Fairgrounds. So, if you are an Indiana author and would like to participate next year, please let me know. As soon as this year’s show closes, I will be accepting applications for next year’s show.

     My website was recently updated, so if you haven’t checked it out yet, you can do it now! http://www.suzannepurewal.com

You can also connect with me and leave book reviews on:
FB: Suzanne Purewal, Author Page
Goodreads: Suzanne Purewal on Goodreads

Here is the link to purchase my books: http://www.suzannepurewal.com/books.html

Kindle versions of Embracing Destiny and Challenging Destiny are available on Amazon

One thought on “Suzanne Purewal – Using Adversity To Fuel My Passion

  1. I LOVE sarcastic wit and poetry. I wish I wrote more poetry and better wit. And, better poetry and more wit too. Beautiful women like you are why I hide in my bunker and pass secret notes rather than come out and deal with the real world. I’d stumble all over and need that marriage counseling. That said, chalk me up as another one of your secret admirers. I just assume there must be others.-Deon M.

Leave a Reply

