Meet Golf Enthusiast and G.O.L.F. Inc. Author, Lane H. Luoma

st-andrews-2

     Don’t miss your opportunity to meet local G.O.L.F. Inc. author, Lane H. Luoma! He will be signing and selling his books at the 67th Annual Christmas Gift & Hobby Show, on Wednesday, November 9th and Thursday, November 10th, from 3:00 P.M. – 8:00 P.M., Friday, November 11th, from 3:30 P.M. – 9:00 P.M., Saturday, November 12th, from 10:00 A.M. – 3:30 P.M., and Sunday, November 13th, from 10:00 A.M. – 5:00 P.M., at the Indiana State Fairgrounds, West Pavilion, booth #303.

     This is what Lane had to say in his own words.
     Author??? If I made my top ten list of things I never thought I’d be it might go something like: U.S. President, doctor, singer, algebra/calculus professor, hair dresser, ballet dancer, rodeo bull rider (crazy!), skyscraper construction guy (crazier!), professional golfer, and for sure, author would have made the list.
     Remarkable as it seems (to me anyway), since this is indeed a book and I’m the guy that created it, I guess that qualifies me as an author. I can pretty much guarantee one thing for sure, none of my various English teachers through my school years would have ever predicted I would author anything.
     Actually, becoming an author isn’t exactly a huge step up on the “status ladder” anyway. If you think about it, just about anybody that can read and write can become an author just as anybody that can swing a golf club can call themselves a golfer. Now, good, bad, or somewhere in between on the author quality scale? That’s another thing altogether and remains to be seen.

cover3

     This is my very first book but hopefully not my last. I’ve got ideas for a few more but I definitely wanted the first to be about golf which has been a huge part of my life as far back as I can remember.
     Anyway, here’s a little background on myself just in case anybody really gives a ….! Cares.
     I was born in a small southern Minnesota town called Worthington, have lived in seven different states, and now reside in Noblesville, Indiana (suburb of Indianapolis) where I have been for the last thirty years or so.
     I’ve played golf for over fifty years and by my best “guesstimate”, played about two hundred different courses. I’ve been involved with the game in one way or another most of my life, both as a recreational endeavor and as a career.
     I graduated from Illinois State University in 1973 with a degree in business and a dream to follow in my father’s footsteps and climb the proverbial corporate ladder with some big company. I figured if I was going to work for a company it might as well be a golf company and was fortunate enough to land a job with what I thought was a big one in Chicago, the Ram Golf Corporation. It was a very low paying customer service position but it was a start in an industry that I at least had some interest in.
     I soon realized there were not very many rungs on the Ram Golf Corporate ladder. In fact, after being there a year it dawned on me there was only one rung between myself and the guy that owned the company, so even though it was a short climb, it was also one that could take forever or never happen at all!
     With little or no opportunity for growth inside, I reluctantly took an outside sales position with Ram in Indiana in 1976 and have been here ever since.
     I’ve worked as an independent sales representative for many golf companies selling just about every equipment, apparel, and accessory category related to the game. I’ve been a fifty percent partner in a nine-hole golf course and owned a couple of my own golf related businesses. By the way, I was President of both those companies, so I did, in fact, climb the ladder. One of those businesses had all of four employees including myself and my wife. The other had two including myself and my wife, but why quibble? I made it to the top!
     I, like every golfer who reads this book, am a frustrated golfer. I, like most golfers who read this book, am also a golf lover. That makes me a frustrated golf lover. A frustrated golf lover you ask? Aren’t those terms contradictory? You will better understand as you read on. Even though I am indeed a frustrated golfer myself and have created an entire book analyzing the game basically by its frustrating attributes, I absolutely and unconditionally love the game. Frustrating as it can be, it is still THE greatest game the Good Lord ever created!
     For more on Lane and his book, visit his website: http://www.golfrustrations.com

Leave a Reply

